Lefkada Town is the capital of the island and it is located on the north coast of it and lies around a natural harbor. Earthquakes in 1948 and 1953 destroyed most of the location and only a couple of churches and monuments survived. After that, it was rebuilt with houses and buildings covered in corrugated metal siding. The narrow alleys throughout the city and the metal faced structures create a charming experience.
Agios Spyridon marks the central square of the capital, a 17th century church that has survived the earthquakes. There also many cafes and shops. Other interesting spots are Mela Street and the Archaeological, Gramophone, Folklore museums.
At the entrance of Lefkada town is the medieval castle of the city, built by the Venetian John Orsini in the early of 14th century. The castle got its name from the church of Santa Maura which was in the same position.
Most of the city streets starting at the bridge that connects the city with the coast have a radial arrangement. The city's main street is Dörpfeld street, pedestrian today, which has the name of the famous German archaeologist Wilhelm Dörpfeld, who conducted important excavations at Lefkada in the early 20th century.
In the city stand the statues of three important writers born in Lefkada, Angelos Sikelianos, Aristotle Valaoritis and Lefcadio Hearn.